top of page

Armenian Genocide Resolution Gains 20 New Co-Sponsors as Armenian Assembly Continues Advocacy

Updated: Jun 14, 2021

H.Res.296 Scheduled for Today, October 29th

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Yesterday, twenty additional Members of Congress co-sponsored the Armenian Genocide resolution, H.Res.296, a day before the vote on the House floor, as the Armenian Assembly of America continues its advocacy efforts on this historic vote.

The new co-sponsors include Representatives Sanford Bishop, Jr. (D-GA), Anthony Brown (D-MD), Jim Cooper (D-TN), Charlie Crist (D-FL), Warren Davidson (R-OH), Madeleine Dean (D-PA), Lois Frankel (D-FL), Eleanor Holmes (D-DC), Will Hurd (R-TX), Dan Kildee (D-MI), Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX), Doris Matsui (D-CA), Cedric Richmond (D-LA), Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan (D-MP), Elissa Slotkin (D-MI), Eric Swalwell (D-CA), Van Taylor (R-TX), Mike Thompson (D-CA), Nydia Velazquez (D-NY), and Maxine Waters (D-CA).

Last night, the U.S. House of Representatives Rules Committee adopted a rule for consideration of the Armenian Genocide Resolution, setting the stage for a vote on the House floor today.

“We applaud the action taken by the Rules Committee led by Chairman James McGovern, the remarks by Committee Member Donna Shalala and the powerful testimony by House Foreign Affairs Chairman Eliot Engel along with Representatives Chris Smith and Anna Eshoo,” stated Armenian Assembly of America Executive Director Bryan Ardouny. “Today’s adoption of the rule for H.Res. 296 sets the stage for a historic vote on the House floor. As Chairman McGovern highlighted, if dark chapters in our history are not acknowledged they’re doomed to be repeated. We urge all Members to support this bipartisan, human rights legislation and ensure that the days of genocide denial are over, and that America’s proud chapter in helping the survivors of the first genocide of the twentieth century is honored and preserved,” Ardouny continued.

Established in 1972, the Armenian Assembly of America is the largest Washington-based nationwide organization promoting public understanding and awareness of Armenian issues. The Assembly is a non-partisan, 501(c)(3) tax-exempt membership organization.


NR# 2019-069

4 views0 comments


bottom of page