top of page

Diasporan Activism Continues, Momentum Builds for Bipartisan Resolution

Updated: Jun 11, 2021

Washington, D.C. – Today, the Armenian Assembly of America (Assembly) reported that momentum continues to build for H.Res.1165 condemning Azerbaijan and denouncing Turkey.

“From hashtag to hashtag and from protests in our nation’s capital to ones in New York, California and across the country, we are making our voices heard,” stated Assembly Congressional Relations Director Mariam Khaloyan. 

Nearly two dozen additional Members of Congress have joined in cosponsoring H.Res.1165 since its introduction earlier this month by Representative Jackie Speier (D-CA) along with 35 original cosponsors, bringing the total number of cosponsors to 56.

Assembly Congressional Relations Director Mariam Khaloyan at the protest in front of the White House, Washington, D.C., October 8, 2020

“The groundswell of support and unity within the community has been amazing. I am proud of our collective efforts. Given the latest news that Azerbaijan has already violated the ceasefire agreement reached among the parties late yesterday, I urge everyone to continue to reach out to their Members of Congress and make your concerns known,” added Khaloyan.     

Take action now and urge your U.S. Representative to immediately pass for H.Res.1165.        


The additional new cosponsors include: Reps. Don Beyer (D-VA), Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Ken Calvert (R-CA), Katherine Clark (D-MA), Madeleine Dean (D-PA), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA), John Garamendi (D-CA), Josh Harder (D-CA), Joe Kennedy (D-MA), Raja Krishnamoorthi (D-IL), Brenda Lawrence (D-MI), Susie Lee (D-NV), Carolyn Maloney (D-NY), Betty McCollum (D-MN), Donald Norcross (D-NJ), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC-At Large), Katie Porter (D-CA), Kathleen Rice (D-NY), Mary Gay Scanlon (D-PA), Dina Titus (D-NV), and Peter Welch (D-VT-At Large).

While Turkey’s Erdogan continues to oppose the ceasefire and with the latest reports from the governments of Artsakh and Armenia that Azerbaijan has repeatedly violated the terms of the agreement reached in Moscow that was to take effect today, October 10th, the Armenian Assembly of America strongly urges that Section 907 of the Freedom Support Act be fully enforced and that sanctions be imposed on Turkey. 

Section 907 states: “United States assistance under this or any other Act (other than assistance under title V of this Act) may not be provided to the Government of Azerbaijan until the President determines, and so reports to the Congress, that the Government of Azerbaijan is taking demonstrable steps to cease all blockades and other offensive uses of force against Armenia and Nagorno-Karabakh.”

Established in 1972, the Armenian Assembly of America is the largest Washington-based nationwide organization promoting public understanding and awareness of Armenian issues. The Assembly is a non-partisan, 501(c)(3) tax-exempt membership organization.


NR# 2020-32

9 views0 comments


bottom of page