top of page

Over 65 Members Send Bipartisan Letter In Support of Artsakh and Armenia

Washington, D.C. - Today, over 65 Members co-sponsored a letter spearheaded by Armenian Caucus Co-Chair Representative Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ) that outlines key congressional priorities for Armenia and Artsakh, reported the Armenian Assembly of America (Assembly). The bipartisan letter, sent to House State Foreign Operations Appropriations Subcommittee Chairman Mario Díaz-Balart (R-FL) and Ranking Member Barbara Lee (D-CA), specifically calls for $100 million in aid to Armenia, $50 million in aid to Artsakh, $2 million for demining efforts, as well as enforcing Section 907 of the FREEDOM Support Act, and releasing Armenian prisoners of war and captured civilians who were supposed to be freed under the terms of the trilateral statement signed in November 2020. Citing Azerbaijan's "inhumane" and illegal blockade of the Lachin Corridor, which is now in its third month, the letter emphasized that the region's Armenian people are "on the brink of a humanitarian crisis" that "threatens to have lasting consequences on the region's security." While the Armenian people are still trying to recover from the "severe hardships caused by the deadly 44-day war" that Azerbaijan, with the full and open support of Turkey, waged on Artsakh in September 2020, the letter highlighted that these ongoing "cruel actions" of blockading the Lachin Corridor and denying access to medical treatments, food, and essential goods, have created "overwhelming needs" and therefore "the assistance provided to date by the U.S. government is wholly insufficient." In order to bolster the security of Armenia and champion democracy in the region, the letter also urges assistance to Armenia to "protect their sovereignty" in the face of constant "Azerbaijani expansion and authoritarianism." The "critical investment" will build on the past support for Armenia and Artsakh and further strengthen U.S.-Armenia relations and partnerships. Cutting off military assistance to Azerbaijan is another point underscored in the letter, which states that it is "abundantly clear that the continued waiver of Section 907 of the FREEDOM Support Act, amidst Azerbaijan’s unabated policy of aggression, has emboldened this violent pattern of behavior." Tracing President Ilham Aliyev's brutal 2020 assault on Artsakh not long after receiving over $100 million in security assistance through the Section 333 Building Partner Capacity Program in Fiscal Years 2018 and 2019, the letter states that "holding Azerbaijan accountable is long overdue and must begin with Congress encouraging the Administration to fully enforce Section 907, restricting the Administration’s authority to waive this law, and enacting statutory prohibitions on any new or pending U.S. military or security aid to Azerbaijan." "The Assembly appreciates the over 65 Members of Congress who joined this critical letter that was initiated by Congressman Pallone and the Armenian Caucus," said Assembly Congressional Relations Director Mariam Khaloyan, who recently submitted testimony on behalf of the Assembly reinforcing this request letter and urging Congress to help prevent a second Armenian Genocide. "As the Armenian people continue to face a humanitarian crisis and genocidal threats, securing aid for Armenia and Artsakh, stopping military assistance to Azerbaijan, and ensuring the release of Armenian prisoners of war is imperative. To further amplify our our collective efforts, we encourage the community to participate in the upcoming Advocacy Summit and make our voices heard and our presence known in the halls of Congress." Earlier this month the Administration released its Budget for Fiscal Year 2024, wherein it recommended approximately $47 million in aid to Armenia and $10 million to Azerbaijan. In addition to Rep. Pallone, the following Members signed the letter to the House Appropriations Committee: Adam Schiff (D-CA), Gus Bilirakis (R-FL), Brad Sherman (D-CA), Linda Sánchez (D-CA), Grace Napolitano (D-CA), Katie Porter (D-CA), Tony Cárdenas (D-CA), Jim McGovern (D-MA), Jake Auchincloss (D-MA), Jim Costa (D-CA), Lori Trahan (D-MA), Anna Eshoo (D-CA), Dina Titus (D-NV), Paul Tonko (D-NY), Zoe Lofgren (D-CA), Eric Swalwell (D-CA), Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), Ted Lieu (D-CA), Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ), Kevin Mullin (D-CA), Raja Krishnamoorthi (D-IL), Judy Chu (D-CA), Chellie Pingree (D-ME), Nanette Barragán (D-CA), John Sarbanes (D-MD), Susan Wild (D-PA), Rashida Tlaib (D-MI), Mike Lawler (R-NY), Jared Golden (D-ME), Haley Stevens (D-MI), Rob Menendez, Jr., (D-NJ), Donald Payne (D-NJ), Seth Magaziner (D-RI), Sydney Kamlager-Dove (D-CA), David Cicilline (D-RI), Stephen Lynch (D-MA), Jamie Raskin (D-MD), Abigail Spanberger (D-VA), Brian Higgins (D-NY), Jimmy Gomez (D-CA), Nikki Budzinski (D-IL), Nicole Malliotakis (R-NY), Chrissy Houlahan (D-PA), Joaquin Castro (D-TX), Lou Correa (D-CA), Steven Horsford (D-NV), Richard Neal (D-MA), Don Beyer (D-VA), Ilhan Omar (D-MN), Brittany Pettersen (D-CO), Chris Pappas (D-NH), Lizzie Fletcher (D-TX), Jared Huffman (D-CA), Diana DeGette (D-CO), Jimmy Panetta (D-CA), Dan Kildee (D-MI), Donald Norcross (D-NJ), Mike Levin (D-CA), Lloyd Doggett (D-TX), Eleanor Norton (D-DC), Mary Gay Scanlon (D-PA), Brad Schneider (D-IL), Jim Himes (D-CT), Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX), Darren Soto (D-FL), Robert Garcia (D-CA), Salud Carbajal (D-CA), Jonathan Jackson (D-IL).

Established in 1972, the Armenian Assembly of America is the largest Washington-based nationwide organization promoting public understanding and awareness of Armenian issues. The Assembly is a non-partisan, 501(c)(3) tax-exempt membership organization.


NR# 2023-12

119 views0 comments


bottom of page