top of page

Rep. TJ Cox Applauds Rep. Jackie Speier for Receiving Armenian Assembly’s Deukmejian Award

Updated: Sep 13, 2021

WASHINGTON, D.C. – In a letter to the Armenian Assembly of America (Assembly), Rep. TJ Cox (D-CA) applauded Rep. Jackie Speier (D-CA) for receiving the Deukmejian Award for Public Service, and expressed his appreciation to the Assembly’s ongoing efforts to strengthen U.S.-Armenia relations.

“This is a well-deserved tribute to Congresswoman Speier for her commitment to the pursuit of strong U.S.-Armenia relations. With over a decade of service in the House of Representatives, Congresswoman Speier has remained committed to solidifying the Republic of Armenia’s democracy and her leadership has been vital in developing stronger ties between our two countries,” Rep. Cox told the Assembly.

Congresswoman Speier was honored for her exemplary work in the U.S. House of Representatives, as well as her leadership, dedication, and passionate support of Armenia and Artsakh. Armenian American leaders and activists throughout the United States attended the Gala in Washington, D.C., which was part of the Armenian Assembly of America’s 2019 National Advocacy Conference.

“I’d also like to extend my deep appreciation to the Armenian Assembly for your ongoing efforts to strengthen the bilateral relations between the Republic of Armenia and the United States. The Armenian Assembly has been a partner since its inception and your leadership has helped engage us as elected officials with the critical needs facing the Republic of Armenia and the Armenian-American community in the United States,” Rep. Cox said.

“As a proud member of the Congressional Armenian Caucus, I look forward to partnering with the Armenian Assembly to advance U.S.-Armenia relations” he added.

The full letter is available here.

Established in 1972, the Armenian Assembly of America is the largest Washington-based nationwide organization promoting public understanding and awareness of Armenian issues. The Assembly is a non-partisan, 501(c)(3) tax-exempt membership organization.


NR#: 2019-053

15 views0 comments


bottom of page